Kate Moretti: Author Interview.

14 12 2012

Hello, Readers!

This week Charles Henry Editing interviewed Kate Moretti about her latest book, Thought I knew You.

What inspired you to write Thought I Knew You?

A friend of mine confessed she wrote a novel, which is something I’ve always wanted to do. I was working part-time with a baby at home. I didn’t know anything about writing characters, so I wrote the main character after myself. For the plot idea, I thought about what would be the most terrible thing that could happen to me – outside of something happening to my kids. The answer, of course, was if my husband just – poof! — vanished. And what if I didn’t know where he went? Well, that seemed interesting, right? The opening line came out of nowhere: Cody and Greg disappeared on the same day. When I wrote that very first line, I thought, Now where the heck did they go? Are they together?

Do you have a writing routine?

No, not really. I’m back at work full-time and I have two small kids. I basically need to fit it in around my life. Late at night, early in the morning, naptime on weekends. Sometimes, if they kids are playing quietly in the playroom, I can squeeze out a few extra paragraphs. It’s a challenge. I constantly juggle when to squeeze in writing. My laptop is always going, and my mind is always writing.

What authors do you find inspiring?

I love how Anita Shreve and Jodi Picoult can both capture poignant emotion with a single action – particularly the emotional range of a mother. I love the raw description of Wally Lamb, it borders on painful to read. In high school I fell in love with the characterizations of Toni Morrison. Later, I read Augusten Burroughs and have always been awed by his honesty (and his humor). I’ve spent a lot of my adult life reading thrillers – fast-paced and plot-driven. Harlan Coben and is fantastic at developing unpredictable plot twists – reading his stuff is just plain fun – a total guilty pleasure. I find inspiration in a fairly wide range of authors, picking out their particular strengths and trying to learn from them.

Can you give a brief overview of what Thought I Knew You is about for my readers?

It’s about a woman whose husband disappears. In the course of trying to piece her life back together, and resolve the mystery of her husband’s whereabouts, she learns that she may not have known him as well as she thought. My goal was to touch on how well you can know another person – even the one you’ve been married to for ten or twenty years. I liked exploring imperfect love. Still do.

Did you have a clear idea of what happened to Greg when you started the book?

Not from the first line, but pretty early on yes. I wrote most of it with that end in mind. Now, what happened to Greg and Claire and Drew changed several times throughout the course of the writing. I started writing it and couldn’t envision the ending that is currently there – seemed impossible to me. By the time I reached the end, I couldn’t see it any other way. Characters do that – they have minds of their own after a while.

Do you think Claire is selfish or is she just naïve about how her actions affect other characters?

What a great question! I really had to think about this. I think she’s a little of both. I tried to make her as real and flawed as I could while still keeping her somewhat likeable. I think in the world today, women are typically expected to be selfless. I deliberately painted her as selfish to challenge that a bit – to put her against her former self, who was defined by her husband’s needs and wants. There’s some naivete there as well, particularly in her actions in San Diego or in the flashback chapters where she seems fairly unaware of how she affects Drew. But then again, subconsciously taking advantage of a man’s affection isn’t a novel concept and neither is the fact that it’s interesting.

Does Claire truly love Drew by the end of the novel?

This question truly threw me! Yes, in my mind, absolutely. She chooses herself – her own needs, desires, wants. She says there was never a chance she could have done anything else. I see this as a true, yet imperfect, love. The situation is less than desirable. They aren’t happily ever after. At one point during the book, she asks Drew what he will do during downturn (in their relationship) – as in will he stay? He says, “What do you think this has been?”. And to me, the most interesting parts of a relationship aren’t the gooey, happy, mushy parts – those are easy! It’s what you do when the proverbial “s” hits the fan. Do you stick around, work together to work it out? That’s when you see characters in their element. Yeah, I think Claire truly loves Drew, I just think that their love became “real” a lot faster because of their life situation.

The relationships in this book are powerful and richly drawn. Are they based on relationships in your life?

Some, yes, for sure. I think as a writer, almost everyone draws from their real life to some extent. Do they mimic my life? Oh, God, I hope not! My husband is in part both Drew and Greg – his faults are Greg’s faults, his strengths are Drew’s strengths. Both are magnified to be more interesting than they are in real life – in both directions. Greg is a bit more of a jerk, and Drew is a touch more wonderful, only because larger than real life is just that much more fascinating, isn’t it? I’m Claire, but hopefully more self-aware than she is. Her friendship with Sarah is an amalgam of all my very best girl friends, and Sarah was just darn fun to write – I wish she existed as a fully whole person herself in real life!

Do you have any upcoming projects?

I’m a little over halfway through my second novel, but this one is a bit darker, there’s a murder. Again, there’s a married couple, but their relationship is drastically different than anything in Knew You. The whole tone is different, and I’m definitely working on more of a plot based suspense novel this time. It’s been fun to try different things.

Where can my readers buy Thought I Knew You?

The book is available on Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, Smashwords, Kobo, Sony and All Romance ebooks. You can see all links for purchase here.

Connect with Kate Moretti at the links below!

Website/blog:  www.katemoretti.blogspot.com

Twitter: @katemoretti1

Author Page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/katemorettiwriter

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6533463.Kate_Moretti

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Commonzense of Saint James

“The truth you believe and cling to makes you unavailable to hear anything new.” Pema Chodron

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Author Charmaine Gordon

Stories of Women Who Survive... and Thrive

Malcolm's Round Table

The real when closely observed becomes magical.

melinda clayton

Reading, Writing, and Random Thoughts

wetinkpresspublishing

Pre-publishing Services for eBooks and Print Publications

Zafar Anjum

Writer, publisher, filmmaker & entrepreneur I If you don't look for risk, risk will find you.

Angela M. Shupe

Bella Verita: Beautiful Truth

Cats With Thumbs

Literary Scratching Post and Blogzine :: ISSN 2152-6753

P. J. Casselman

An Autistic Author Addressing Associates

M C Raj Author

Official Website of M C Raj

Rachael J. Thorne

We all have our dreams

BATSHITE

UNSUBSCRIBE FROM SOCIETY'S VERSION OF SANITY

The Plain Wife by Aimee Jones

My humble offerings as a small town Facebook enthusiast and aspiring novelist from the golden plains of Oklahoma.

